“Running with dogs… the Happiest Miles EVER!”

It’s 8:30 on a Saturday morning and i’m still in bed. I’ve been up since 7:30 and ever since I opened my eyes, i’ve been trying to conjure up the will to go running 5 miles in the 20 degree weather where it might possibly snow out there. It doesn’t seem appealing to me. I really want to stay on my training schedule, but I really don’t want to face the cold. I’m a wimp. Let’s face it. I honestly don’t know why “should I run” or “Do I have the will to run” is a question today… What a stupid question.

Image

I’m trying to keep that in my mind… Indeed, it is a stupid question. But it’s so cold outside and my blood is so thin ((eye roll).

My running magazine arrived in the mail yesterday and when I looked at it the first thing I saw was a article titled “Running with Dogs: The Happiest Miles Ever”. If any of you know me, you know that i’m DYING to have a little fur-kid who can run with me. I’ve looked at several shelters and i’ve looked online at several rescues and each time I just can’t make myself make the commitment. I think I fear commitment, especially when it comes to a living thing. I mean, I’ve had my fish for almost 8 months now and he’s still living, but taking care of a fish and taking care of a live animal that requires attention and….exercise makes  me stop and think for a minute. I have a whole slew of fears, it’s ridiculous.

Let me name a few:

-I wont be able to run it as much as i want.
-I’ll forget to take it to the groomer (especially if I get a golden.. which is a dog I REALLY like)
-It will feel rejected and alone when i’m in class or when I travel for my school responsibilities.
-I won’t be consistent as I plan to be and give it a stable home environment.. and teach it many, many things.
-I’ll have to move when I graduate (December 2013) and I won’t be able to take it with me.
-I’ll have to move when I start my internship (Fall 2013) and won’t be able to take it with me.

These are all legit fears, but how to move past them?? I’m not sure.

Here are the reasons I want a fur-kid:
-I would have companionship and a running partner. -I’d feel safer exploring new trails with an animal by my side.
-It would give me something to take care of and love and bond with.
-I’d LOVE going to the dog park. I already go to the dog park once a week to play with other people’s dogs (please don’t tell THEM that)
-It would give me accountability on my runs, so I wont skimp… no matter how cold it is.
-I could have play-dates with my friends and their dogs.

All in all, I feel like the pros and cons are pretty equal. I don’t know why I’m worried about leaving him here when I live beneath a family of 4 people who have said they’ll help me take care of my dog. But it’s still a concern for me.

This is the little guy i’m looking at… he was posted in August, so he might be adopted already and they haven’t updated the website

http://www.tvgrr.com/index.php?option=com_portfolio&id=237&view=item&Itemid=3

Now i’m off to my run, y’all.

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

One response to ““Running with dogs… the Happiest Miles EVER!”

  1. Abigail Mercer

    I think you should get a high energy dog that is furry! Dogs are awesome and they make your life better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

