1 Peter 5:8-11

I have to add this little guy to this page before things get serious… He’s so cute!! He’s a little Dinosaur!! RAWRR!Image
I had a plan this morning. I knew what I would write about, it was all ready to go. I was going to go to the gym (which I did and I killed my back-squats!), then I was going to come home, eat a few snacks (yes, a few), take a shower, write in my blog, get ready for class and go.

But I sat down to write in my blog and felt a little guilty because my brother and I had a phone chat last night and he asked me if I’ve been reading the Word… and I HAVE, just not really meditating or even thinking about what I read. That’s one thing I need to change. So I closed the computer and got out my little devotional, read through it, read through each of the verses (like 3 verses) and suddenly found myself reading more than just the verses of the day… I read more and more and felt really encouraged this morning.

I was trying not to write another religious post, because I feel like i’m driving some of you crazy. It’s also an awkward subject for me to write about… but today I just can’t hold it in! I feel like if I write about me feeling tired and vowing to go to bed earlier, wake up earlier, drink more water, and stop eating 500 luna bars in one day, then I would be doing a disservice to myself and to those who read. I don’t consider myself really a religious person much. In fact, listing my sins would cover the walls of my house and more. They’re never ending. My sin. never. stops….but…here goes.

Sometimes I feel like I’m the only person who continually resists sin that I struggle with. It feels isolating and frustrating. I see people all around me everywhere indulging in things that I want. Sometimes I want to look at God and at church and say “Screw this. I’m tired. I just want to LIVE!” and do my own thing. It’s a constant struggle that I have to fight. Sometimes I leave my house to go to church, hating myself that I am going to church and then I leave church so thankful that I went. I feel so alone in the struggle sometimes. For me, following Christ is something that I must do. I’ve tried to go without Him. I’ve tried to do my own thing. But in the end, I feel compelled to come back to Him, because there’s something about Him that’s transforming, changing, earth-shattering. I can’t get away from Him. I can’t escape… and the more I try to escape the more I realize that I want Him. I need Him.

1 Peter 5:8-11 A mind blowing passage of scripture that wasn’t even included in my study today. Italics added.

“Be sober! Be on the alert! Your adversary the Devil is prowling around like a roaring lion, looking for anyone he can devour. Resist him, firm in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are being experienced by your brothers in the world.
Now the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ Jesus will personally restore, establish, strengthen, and support you after you have suffered a little.
To Him be the dominion forever. Amen.”

Get this:

My suffering is not just me! I may not see anyone else going through what I’m going through, there may not be the support system that I’d like, but there are people who trust Christ all over the world that struggle to keep the same faith I do. They struggle as much as me with watching people enjoying sin that they feel so tempted to do and choosing to turn to Christ instead. Wait, but it’s not finished.. Not only am I NOT ALONE… but God has CALLED ME to Him. I’ve been called. You’ve been called and if you don’t believe, that’s cool, He’s calling continually! The compelling feeling and knowledge and state of mind that I experience that leads me to follow Him even when I feel like throwing in the towel is Him continuing to call me. He hasn’t just called me once, he continues!

But God’s not finished there… Not only are we not alone. Not only has He called us and continues to do so through His Holy Spirit… He promises to personally restore, establish, strengthen and support us. personally. PERSONALLY! I can’t get over that.

When I originally copied the verse down, I had only seen the word “restore” and didn’t realize that he doesn’t just restore us, which is a miracle in itself. No, no, He does more. He establishes us and strengthens us to continue to follow Him and supports us through the hard times. And He does all of this Personally…. and he does all of that after we have suffered only a little. A little suffering and He’s there BAM! He’s restoring, establishing, strengthening, and supporting us after a little suffering. A LITTLE. rawr!

I can’t get over it. I can not get over these verses. I can’t even comprehend that the God that made me, the God that made the earth, the God that made everything. He promises that I’m not alone in my suffering. He promises that if I just be alert, if I stay sober, if I stay on my guard and look to Him, that when I get tired and feel exhausted and feel angry after suffering a little, that He personally helps me out… but he does more than just HELP me. He restores, strengthens, establishes and supports… He gives me the strength to make it one more day following Him.

Can you comprehend that? I can’t.

Praise Yahweh!

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

