H.A.L.T…. what?

HALT

That’s the word I read on the board a few months ago as I entered the room for group discussion at church. Halt what? I didn’t know.  As I looked in each face, trying to track who was talking and gleaning from each conversation and each person that shared I finally gathered the meaning. H.A.L.T. is an acronym for something.

Hungry
Angry
Lonely
Tired

The premise of today’s discussion was to HALT before you do anything irrational or make any hasty decision or act or even say something. HALT and ask yourself
“Am I Hungry?”
“Am I Angry?”
“Am I Lonely?”
“Am I Tired?”

I thought it was a good idea to ask yourself those things before you act or make a decision that may not be the best life choice.

Image

THAT guy probably made some bad life choices and picked up some baggage along the way because he forgot to HALT. Make sure you don’t become him, make sure you don’t make so many bad choices that you have to haul your baggage around and look Hungry, Angry, Lonely, and Tired all the time.

Though this HALT method of thinking is meant for people who struggle with addictions, I think it works for all people, struggling or not.

Tempted to yell at the person in the next car? HALT… Angry?
Feel compelled to call an former lover? HALT… Lonely?
A buddy asks you to go get smashed or hammered? HALT… Tired or Angry..maybe Lonely?
Want to eat everything in the fridge? HALT… Hungry/lonely?
Don’t want to study for a test tomorrow? HALT…

You get the point, right? It makes so much sense while i’m typing it but in the moment… when I want to go hang with friends instead of study or eat instead of read or pray, or sleep instead of exercise… I forget to think of HALT and sometimes end up making bad decisions.

It’s hard for me to think of it in a Christian light. It’s hard for me to grasp the concept of what HALT really means while following Christ, especially considering that the majority of the time, I don’t feel like following him… because i’m Angry or Lonely or Tired… Sometimes i’m even Hungry for His word and I lose track of HIM being what i’m really hungry for… and I go chase things other than Him.

Philippians 4:8-9 “ Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.”

This is the Bible’s way of saying “remember to H.A.L.T.”.

I was in this meeting maybe 2 months ago.. maybe longer. The meaning of HALT has never left me and I hadn’t written it down or anything. It just really struck me in my heart. I hope I always remember it.

I hope you always remember it too.

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

