Short update: St Jude

This has been an interesting few weeks to say at the least. I haven’t been writing recently because every time I start to write, I feel an immense amount of guilt… because I know I should be doing homework or prepping for a class i’m teaching, or filling out internship applications.

Being a person who has other commitments than school and is taking 15 hours in graduate school, I feel like a chicken running around with her head cut off this semester. I was so naive. What made me think that 15 hours was doable? I have no earthly idea. I feel so silly!

But I have a lot I want to update you guys on. A LOT has happened, however I don’t have the energy to write it out tonight. I thought I would just write a quick update to let you know that I haven’t forgotten y’all. I still love you!

Image

My half marathon is in like 3 weeks. Please don’t ask me if I have been following my training schedule… since I last ran that 9 miles, I’ve ran a couple of times since but my foot ends up hurting. I still plan on running the race because i’ve been going to crossfit every week and have been doing great in it and my foot doesn’t hurt there. So I still have been keeping up with life and exercising.

I traveled this past weekend to St Jude hospital with my friend Ciera for her one-year-off-chemo check up. I wanted to be there for her, but I also wanted to know what i’m running for, to meet a couple of the patients there and to bring back pictures to post all over a wonderfully inspiring blog post that i’m supposed to write. I wanted YOU guys to see what you have donated for!! I have raised over 1300 dollars! This is amazing.. I think we can do BETTER! and i’m so proud of you all! Anyways, It ended up being a very intense visit that I might write about later. For now i’ll just give y’all a snapshot picture… Teaser?
Image

Let’s just say that the end of the weekend, I have no doubt that i’m running 13.1 miles for the right reason and… 1300 dollars is not nearly enough…

I wish I could give my them my heart.

Please pray for Ciera, she’s still there and undergoing extra testing. We’re staying positive, but won’t know anything until next week.

This verse has been so encouraging!

2 Samuel 22:33-36.
“It is God who arms me with strength
and keeps my way secure.
He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
he causes me to stand on the heights.
He trains my hands for battle;
my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
You make your saving help my shield;
your help has made me great.”

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

One response to “Short update: St Jude

  1. Pingback: A Tribute: Beauty, Thankfulness, and Open hands | I am Sara, See me RAWR!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

