He is Faithful…

After several attempts, several weeks, several entries, at writing this, i’m sorry if this doesn’t do the situation justice:

Remember when I talked about Ciera in my earlier posts? Remember how we prayed and supported? My training for half marathons? Her training for a bone marrow transplant, her success, her remission, her shoulder replacement (maybe I didn’t write about that, I can’t remember). A fighter, a woman of God, a person who smiles and can light up the room. She is a gift to all of us who know her- whether she thinks that or not!

“Those who look to Him are radiant with joy: their faces will never be ashamed.” Psalm 34:5

In mid September, Ciera received devastating, soul crushing, breath-takingly painful news for the third time in her life.
       “You have cancer.”

I remember receiving the text message “She relapsed!” This was soul crushing news that I couldn’t accept. She relapsed? She has cancer again? Why? I don’t understand! It was so hard for her family. You and I have even no idea. We don’t even know an inkling. We can never imagine. But, Lord, let’s cry out on behalf of their entire family- Mike, Sherri, Austin. and Ciera. Because when one person has cancer, their entire family has it.

“The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” Psalm 145:18

She started treatment right away. Round three. And we have prayed and prayed. Nonstop praying.

I remember texting her and asking how she was feeling. Pain. Dizziness. Chemo. Platelets. Blood. Again. This past weekend I went to go visit her. She’s such a good friend! She educated me about things in her life without knowing it, by just allowing us to come visit. Her willingness to have visitors is her selfless way of sharing herself with us… her life with us… and that sharing opened my eyes. From my observations, their days are difficult and long. At times even strenuous. A simple check up on counts and chemo can turn into a 6-11 hour visit at the hospital depending on what other medical issues arise (blood pressure, platelets…etc). Chemo is no joke and it has made her dizzy to where she does not walk around the hospital but instead uses her wheelchair, since she may faint! At times she is constantly nauseated with no relief.  Your prayers are needed. Please do pray.

“For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.” Matthew 18:20

Only Fifteen days after starting treatment her doctors decided to do a bone marrow aspirate just to check to see how things were progressing. They weren’t really expecting anything much since her bone marrow had been full of leukemia just 15 days prior, but our God is faithful. He provides.

She’s responding to treatment and things are going well! She’s responding to treatment so well that her MRD (Minimal Residual Disease) is less than 1%.  They’re gearing up for some more chemo and then eventually a Bone Marrow Transplant (number 2). There is no timeline at the moment, but her family is trusting Him with each step that comes along. This time, she’ll receive her mom or dad’s cells. Another fight! Please shower them with prayers during this time.

“The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

We are praying that this fight be the last fight and that Ciera beats this beast called “cancer” once and for all!

Mrs Sherri said it best when she quoted Jesus in his final moments before he beat sin once and for all and purchased our forgiveness from the cross:  TETELESTAI” It is Finished”…whole-heartedly believing she will beat this once and for all!

YES! His mercies never cease, He’s near to those who call on Him, His faithfulness is great, He’s present when we pray… His promises endure throughout all generations. Praise Him, everyone! The Lord is stronger.

Psalm 18:1-2; 30-36

I love You, Lord, my strength.
The Lord is my rock,
my fortress, and my deliverer,
my God, my mountain where I seek refuge,
my shield and the horn of my salvation,
my stronghold.

God—His way is perfect;
the word of the Lord is pure.
He is a shield to all who take refuge in Him.
For who is God besides Yahweh?
And who is a rock? Only our God.
God—He clothes me with strength
and makes my way perfect.
He makes my feet like the feet of a deer
and sets me securely on the heights.
He trains my hands for war;
my arms can bend a bow of bronze.

You have given me the shield of Your salvation;
Your right hand upholds me,
and Your humility exalts me.
You widen a place beneath me for my steps,
and my ankles do not give way.

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

One response to “He is Faithful…

  1. Mom

    Wow! What a testimony of God’s Faithfulness

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

