Obedience Produces Joy

This past weekend I had a wonderful time as a Leader- Leading Disciple Now. It was a lot of fun! I co-lead with 2 other leaders and we had 8 girls total. I feel like I didn’t get to know these girls as well as I wanted to, but that’s okay since we had 2 days to learn 8 people.

I got baptized Sunday. I’ve been thinking for the last three years about getting baptized, but have always resisted it because I felt quite silly. I’ve been baptized before and it felt kind of redundant to get baptized again. Still, the Lord has not left me alone for years so this weekend while I was leading Disciple Now, I decided to join our students and get baptized with them.

IMG_1340 IMG_1341

I really battled pride and was afraid of what people would think. I was worried that people would misunderstand why I decided to get rebaptized and then I realized that obedience is better. I kept thinking of a poster that I made a couple of weeks ago and hung on my wall. It’s the first thing I see in the morning and the last thing I see when I go to sleep. It just makes me smile.

photo 1-4

“Obedience Produces Joy”.

Indeed, I do believe that. I heard it in a sermon one day that Matt Chandler preached and then I read it in an interview with his wife Lauren Chandler. Since I heard it, i’ve been really mulling over what it means and I agree. Obedience produces Joy in my life, even if it’s joy mingled with sorrow. Joy from Him is the only true Joy. So that was my deciding factor in baptism.

It was a great weekend. We learned so much about the Lord and the start to the week has been… just what I thought It would be! Incredibly hard to adjust to the time change. Nonetheless, that’s quite alright.

Have a great week, Y’all! I’ve missed writing in the blog, so I decided to make a short update today.

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

