Month Madness Mania- March 2015 Edition!

I’ve been following my friend’s Lily’s Blog for quite a long time now and every month she does a “What i’m into” blog post to recap her experiences, adventures, and triumphs for the month… So i’ve decided to do the same thing, since I think it’s splendid. You can view her march post and follow her blog Here. I decided to give my “What i’m into” a different name, because I like to be silly! “Month Madness Mania…” Just made my heart happy because of the 3 m’s. Don’t ask…

So this post is basically.. “What I’m Into March 2015”

What I’m watching: 

I have not been to the cinema in many moons, so I won’t even include Cinema movies, but I have been a netflix, Youtube, and Vimeo fanatic….

Friends

FriendsI love friends! It’s my favorite show on Netflix right now. I believe I’m on Season Four at this moment! I don’t watch it everyday because Ross and Rachel are making me nuts… But when I do watch it it makes me laugh out loud! The characters are all in their mid-to-late 20’s, they all have silly idiosyncrasies that are relatable to me. I understand their struggle with life, relationships, finances, and… friends. My favorite character was Ross until him and Rachel “were on a break,” but now I don’t like him too much. I’m tempted to say Chandler and Phoebe are now my favorites.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt- a Netflix Original Series…

KimmyMy roommate introduced me to Kimmy telling me that Kimmy reminds her of me and that we are likely kindred spirits. When I asked her why she said that, she eluded to that Kimmy and I are both pretty much living in our own happy, clueless bubbles. After watching it and becoming addicted to and adoring this show… I think her assessment is at least partially right. If I could get away with her 90’s wardrobe I would! Kimmy Schmidt was abducted in Middle School by this crazy guy who proclaimed the world had ended and he was a prophet- saving her from the World’s outside destruction. 15 or so years later, the outside world, that is not apocalyptic, discovers her and 4 or 5 other women who have been living in this basement under a religious cult…. So When Kimmy breaks into the outside world, she moves to New York… and makes an adventure discovering life.

That’s about all I’m going to be giving away of Kimmy’s story, but I definitely adore her, her smile, her personality, and her cheesy wardrobe.

Vimeo: 

This Video on Vimeo about the Deaf people in Yemen from IMB Deaf peoples. The video has subtitles for those who do not know American Sign Language.

Youtube: 

I’m a huge fan of SpokenWord Slam Poetry- This month I will feature Sarah Kay- She’s a great spoken Word Artist.
Here is her Channel…

My favorite Video by her Is called Mrs Ribiero. Beautiful Poem

What i’m Reading: 

AHA: The God That Changes Everything by Kyle Idleman

AHA.jgpI started reading this book with my small group a couple of months ago and really hated it at first. I think part of the reason why I hated it was really personal- that I had a hard time connecting with my small group and was dealing with some personal things as far as obedience to The Lord. In the end, I finished this book and really enjoyed it. The author, Kyle Idleman lays out the familiar story of the Prodigal Son that Jesus told throughout the entire book and explains how we can change our lives by following the steps this prodigal took to make change- Awakening, Honesty (brutal honestly about yourself), and Action. Through reading this book I did see several times in my life where i experienced AHA moments that lead to action, but I also identified several moments in my life where I experienced AHA moments that lead to self-pity instead of Action. It helped me be more aware in the future of how I can respond to these, sometimes dark moments. I recommend this book to those who want to learn… And change.

AHA: The God that Changes Everything by Kyle Idleman is on sale for Kindle for $1.99 for those of you who want to read it!

Since my month was very busy, that’s about all I had time to read this month, but It was a good book, nonetheless.  I started another book as well, but am not ready to talk about it since I’m not very far into it. I hope to increase my reading in the coming month: April!

What I’m Eating:

I made a Chicken, Kale, and Quinoa crockpot soup on Sunday night. I don’t care that the weather is getting warmer, I didn’t want to have to stand in the kitchen and work for it! I saw my friend TheKnittyHippie, had made it and posted a picture to her Instagram… so when I asked her for the recipe, she sent me this link… I added and took away a few things the recipe called for… I added Chickpeas instead of beans and Water instead of Chicken Broth. I added cajun seasoning, chili powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper. I forgot my Olive Oil and didn’t have the yellow onions or celery, so I put green peppers and sweet onions in it. I typically use Recipes as suggestions or guides and then do with what I have. I have had some Terrible disasters and also some pretty wonderful meals…This happened to taste wonderfully.

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 12.39.49 PM

Since March 1, when my trainer had a serious talk with me about nutrition and fueling my body for working out, I’ve been eating lots of fun breakfast foods and sometimes even making them for lunch and dinner. This makes me really happy. Since this talk, I have added Eggs, Low Sodium Bacon, Protein Powder, BCAA Amino Acids and a few other things to my diet. I have been very, very scared to add new foods to my diet, especially the bacon and eggs since it’s imperative that I maintain a low-sodium diet because of my Meniere’s disease which I have a blog forming about… right now.

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 12.52.41 PM Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 12.52.28 PM

I Typically eat Pancakes every Saturday- I love pancakes, especially these.

3/4 cup of oats, 3/4 cup of Yogurt, 1tsp of baking soda, enough egg whites to make batter, and whatever sweetener you want (I like Carmichael’s Honey).

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 12.52.08 PM Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 12.52.51 PM

The Internets: Blogs I love

Such Small Hands

I’ve already mentioned my friend Lily and her blog.  Lily and her husband Jonathan have been teaching English in Korea for quite some time now. I really enjoy her blogs about her adventures there and have been keeping up with her. She’s from my hometown and I think we went to the same school or church… or something when we were younger, but we were never friends. I know Lily best through the blogosphere world though our paths have crossed!

Sights from the Road:

My sweet friend Robin, who I know from Crossroads Church in Louisiana, has moved back to Africa recently to live an adventure of Sharing Christ with others. I have been Following and in love with her blog and writing for a while as well- I really encourage you to head over there and check it out.

Dogs and Dumbbells

My personal trainer, who has also become my friend, writes in her blog from time to time. So far, I love each one of her posts. They have been really enjoyable and always educational. She has also written a pretty awesome ebook called Gym Bag Essentials for $8.99 that I plan on purchasing when I find the time to read more and more! If the book is anything like my conversations I’ve had with her about health and fitness, I know they’ll be educational and inspirational!

All in all, that’s what’s going on March 2015… Can’t wait to post my April Edition… It may include something like a… triathlon.

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

One response to “Month Madness Mania- March 2015 Edition!

  1. Pingback: Month Madness Mania: April 2015 Edition | I am Sara, See me RAWR!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

