Month Madness Mania: April 2015 Edition

This is ANOTHER month recap- April 2015 Edition. My goal is to do these at the end of every month. If you missed last month’s recap on what i’ve been doing click here. My friend Lily often does these and I decided that it’s a great way to recap the month and just remember how I’ve been productive, what i’ve done… and it’s also a great way to hold myself accountable because an entire month could go by and I could accomplish… nothing. I feel like it’s also a great way to make goals and accomplish them.

What I’m Watching

On Netflix.

Much like I said last month, I don’t go to the cinema often, but I am a Netflix fanatic. This month I started a new Netflix series and have been obsessed with it since. In fact, I’ve been so obsessed with it that I have been staying up till 1 or 2 am to see what happens next. My Goal for May is to not watch Netflix at all.. with that being said…

Once Upon a Time

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 11.10.29 AM

This is one of the most creative series I have ever seen. It’s enthralling. Without giving it away it’s pretty much about all the fairytale characters in one story and… apparently they all know each other. Snow, Charming, Rumplestiltskin, Pinocchio, the Evil Queen… Etc. My favorite character is Rumplestiltskin who also has another name in another world Mr Gold. He’s the most brilliant character on the show and by far my favorite.

In Theatre

I’ve been to see two plays this month. This is an unusual number for me, but I do quite enjoy theatre. I usually attend one or two plays every 5 months or so. Recently I’ve had the privilege of attending two.

A Shayna Maidel- Clarence Brown Theatre (UTK; Knoxville, TN) 

AShaynaMaidel2

A Shayna Maidel

This play was a great way to accent my time preparing for Pesach (passover). Much of the play was in Yiddish- A Shayna Maidel means A Beautiful Woman. It was the week before Pesach and I knew I was about to get ready to celebrate the holy day with my friends. This play was heavy, sad, and enlightening. It highlighted two jewish sisters- one had been left behind with her mother in Poland and the other went with her father to the States. Then Hitler came. They were separated for over 10 years and the sister finally comes to the US after being liberated from a death camp…

A Shayna Maidel

A Shayna Maidel Actresses… My favorite is the one standing up.

A beautiful and tragic story of a family who finds their way through misunderstandings, grief, and estrangement… heartbreaking and redeeming all in one. If you ever have an opportunity to see this in production, don’t pass it up.

 

Hairspray (NTID; Rochester New York). 

hairspray

This was my first fully deaf-friendly play that i’ve been to. It was really interesting. There were two people for each character- someone deaf and someone hearing. When the hearing person talked, the deaf person signed the lines… This was confusing for the first few minutes, but I grew accustomed to it. I’m really, really thankful that Rochester let us see this the night before they went into production! On each side of the stage there were also captions! This was excellent accessibility! I usually go to Theatre and have two interpreters who sit in front of the stage and have to watch to closely to see who’s speaking- This was far better and a LOT of fun!

RID

The Stage

NTID hairpsray

The excellent Cast

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Internets.

Last month I featured a spoken word artist… This week I want to feature Jackie Hill- Christian Spoken word artist. Jackie tells her testimony in the video below. Though this is a great spoken word poem, it’s not my favorite by her. I like her “Eyes like Judas” and “Poem about Weed”. Both are very, very good. The one featured this month is called “My Life As A Stud”.

Youtube: Jackie Hill: my life as a Stud

What I’m Reading: 

keepers of the covenant

I Finally finished that book. It took me about 2 or 3 months to finish it. That is a REALLY long time for me, because I normally finish books in about a week or two, depending on my business. Lynn Austin is one of my favorite authors, but this was not one of my favorite books.

Lynn Austin typically write Historical Fiction books, based on biblical characters, much like Francine Rivers. Her books the Chronicles of the Kings were exciting, educational, and riveting. This book that I read above, Keepers of the Covenant was a continuation of the last book she wrote and both focus on the exile of the jews to Babylon and their journey back to the promised land. Though both are good, they’re not her best.

Things I’ve done… 

My friends and I celebrated Pesach by hosting Seder dinner…

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 10.21.01 AM

My friends and I also participated in the Color Run…
Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 11.59.29 AM

 

Ciera and Transplant…

I got to sScreen Shot 2015-04-13 at 12.05.53 PMee my dear friend Ciera and got to visit with her and her family before they left for Memphis… For those of you who DON’T know… Ciera has received her mom’s cells yesterday and today and is beginning the transplant and engrafting process of  Bone Marrow Transplant number 2. Her and her family would appreciate your prayers and your support. One of the main reasons you can support Ciera is by buying the T-shirts she’s selling right now. This money will enable her dad and brother to come up to visit, pay for gas, pay for food, and just help their family out in general.

 

Here’s how you guys can support her by buying shirts:

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 12.09.56 PM

…and I did a triathlon and that was pretty cool, plus you guys raised $2,770… I’m extremely proud of you!

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 2.17.06 PM

On the Blog

I’ve actually kept up pretty well this month… My new years goal of actually using and writing in this blog has become somewhat of a success for the month of April.  I talked about my issue with meniere’s disease, my fun time celebrating Pesach, and the endless Sorries I give away so freely. Not only that, but I also took time to list all the Books on my shelves that I plan on reading before the end of the year (hahaha)! I even wrote a pre triathlon and post triathlon blog update and took time to tell you all about the Jewish Museum I went to when I was in Florida!

All in all, i’ve had a lot of fun this month, but I sure am happy that it’s OVER.

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

