What I’m into… May 2015 Edition

Hi everyone.

I’m supposed to do a “Month Madness Mania” but decided to go ahead and call it what i’m into. I’m trying to type this with my sliced-into pointer finger. It’s not an easy task.

What I’m watching: 

You’re Not You

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 8.41.42 PM I watched this movie on Netflix. The main actress is played by Hillary Swank who is a young lively woman who gets diagnosed with ALS. I’ve second hand seen ALS is my last job, where we provided equipment for ALS patients to communicate with friends and family. This was a very sad, but touching movie. It’s worth the watch, in my opinion. It gives a face or two to what the Ice Bucket Challenge was for last summer- there were lots of misconceptions about ALS through that.

Photo credit, google images. 

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 8.46.32 PM

Abduction of Eden

This was also a heavy movie. I’m not sure why I chose to watch heavy movies this month, but this, too, was on netflix. It featured the true story of a young girl who got sucked into sex-trafficking. It’s a very real, but tragic story. If you don’t think that Human Trafficking is happening to our girls in America, you should watch this. Eye opening and gut wrenching, but real.

photo credits: amazon.com

The Internets: 

I rejoined Facebook this month and nearly regret doing so…. I don’t know why, but life feels so much more lonely on social media.

I don’t remember any videos I’ve watched or articles I’ve read that I really want to share. however, for those of you who don’t know, i’ve been making it a point to wrap my hair recently because I enjoy it. I’ve been watching Andrea Grinberg’s tutorial videos on youtube. My favorite Wrap so far has been the Regal wrap, below is the tutorial:

I enjoy her videos, her blog and her music (she’s a cellist). She also runs a website called Wrapunzel and sells Tichels (snazzy, right?!) She is an Orthodox Jew that moved from Toronto to Israel for seminary/school then to Chicago with her husband in 2011 when she got married. The Tznius (jewish law about modesty) for women indicates that a married woman must cover her hair- some do this with Sheitels (wigs) or with tichel (Scarfs). This is something I enjoy learning about. I am not Jewish, but I enjoy it… This is a mitzvah for married Jewish women to enjoy so their husbands only see their hair. Here is a link of information for you.

Not all married Jewish women cover their hair and not all women who cover their hair are Jewish. I have learned a lot about religious hair covering over the past couple of months because it is fascinating to me. There is an entire group of women who cover their hair for various reasons- these women come from all kinds of background, Christian (1 Corinthians 11), Moslem, Jewish, Pagan, Catholic… and many, many more.

Note: I did not put this on my “what i’m into” to create conflict, theological debate or offense. I put this on here because it’s “What i’m into” this month and it’s what i am educating myself about. If you have something controversial or disrespectful to say about it, please keep it to yourself. 

What I’m reading: 

Screen Shot 2015-05-17 at 10.35.17 PM

Things As They Are by Amy Carmichael.

I wrote a blog about how this book is tearing me apart. I don’t really want to talk about it anymore though. I feel like the more I talk about things like this, the less people want to talk about them and the more isolated I feel.

Things I’ve done… 

I’ve not been very active this month. I’ve worked a lot. I did make some Challah- I plan to write a blog about that soon because Challah is a gift from G-d! Let me tell you.. It’s amazing. Plus, most of the Challah I’ve made has been… chocolate glazed.

Simply divine.

What i’ve written:

I didn’t have a lot to write about this month mainly because I am not really ready to write about anything that’s going through my head yet. I feel like most people i talk to don’t understand anyways and I don’t feel like blogging about it and getting feedback yet. Maybe June this will happen.

I know I begged you to pray for Ciera... This is still a request from me. Please do pray for her.

I talked about The Call of God on my life through a sermon, I wrote about the book i mentioned above, I took some time to talk about how I am slowly working through eliminating my cannots which has been a hard process!

This about sums up my month! I know it’s not much of an update, but June will be better! I will pick up some light books and write funny stories.

About scarmich

A girl in her 20's looking at love, life, and laughter in the mundane.

2 responses to “What I’m into… May 2015 Edition

  1. mom

    Hey Boo! I enjoy reading your blog and though you don’t feel you have much to say this month, I find it interesting. Your willingness to explore other traditions is refreshing and an inspiration! Don’t ever stop!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other followers

